4Cs Of Diamond – Color, Cut, Clarity & Carat

    The 4Cs of diamond include color, cut, clarity, and carat. The diamond grading labs grade or assess diamonds based on its 4Cs.

    Today, the 4Cs of diamond are the universal method for assessing the quality of any diamond, anywhere in the world. It is Color, Clarity, Cut and Carat that makes each diamond special and very different in value. For example, for some the carat weight would be key, while others may look for better clarity or brilliant cuts.

    The scale to grade diamonds was first created as a rudimentary way of assessing the quality and has emerged to be the internationally accepted benchmark for judging the quality of diamonds. Here’s an easy guide to help you find the best quality in your diamond.


    diamond color

    The primary factor that increases the value & visible beauty of a diamond is its color. The color of a diamond, apart from cosmetic reasons, is also indicative of the rarity of the stone. A diamond color is ranked on a scale of D-Z, with D referring to diamonds that are devoid of color, to Z which would indicate that the diamond is colorful.

    If you are in the market for a colorless diamond, then choose in the D-E-F color range. A lower color grade diamond will mean the presence of a yellowish tint that may be undesirable to some. As a rule of thumb, the more colorless the diamond, the more is its value.

    Learn more about the importance of diamond color.



    diamond cutDiamond Cut Range

    This technical factor is considered as an important one among rest of the 4Cs of diamond quality. The cut consists of three factors – cutting, symmetry, and polish quality of the diamond. The diamonds at the top of the line are regarded as triple excellent or 3EX signifying excellent cut, polish, and symmetry.

    When determining the quality of the cut, typically a diamond grader evaluates the cutter’s skill in ‘cutting’ the diamond. The more precise the diamond is cut, the more captivating the diamond is to the eye.

    Although color contributes significantly to a diamond’s value, it is the cut that imparts the shine and brilliance. Not to be confused with the shape (like emerald or round shape) but a properly cut diamond will ensure total internal reflection, refracting all the light that enters the diamond into the eyes of the viewer as brilliance and fire.



    4Cs of diamond

    The clarity of a diamond usually refers to inclusions (blemishes) present in the stone. Diamonds without inclusions or blemishes are rare; however, most characteristics can only be seen with magnification. Not only does the clarity of the diamond affect the overall look of the diamond, but the position or the size of the inclusion can affect the passage of light, making it appear less sparkly and ultimately affecting its value.

    As per the established benchmarks ranging over 11 clarity grades, diamonds are ranked on their clarity starting at Flawless (FL) to Included (I3).



    diamond carat size

    Carat is the unit of weight of the diamond. One carat equals 0.200 grams or 1/5 gram and is subdivided into 100 points. Typically, value of a diamond based on carat weight is not always proportional in nature. For instance, the value of a 1-carat diamond is not half the value of a 2-carat diamond. Likewise, two diamonds with the same carat weight can have different physical size measurements depending on how they are cut and thus be priced distinctly too.


    The value of the diamond typically tends to increase manifold as the weight increases. This is because bigger diamonds are relatively rarer than smaller diamonds. Are you ready to pick a diamond?



    Must Read


    Related Articles


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here